Domain scam

by Mufaka 3/24/2008 4:36:00 PM
We recently received the following email regarding our corporate domain name:
From: leo.guo 
Date: 2008/3/23
Subject: (omitted) domain name
To: info 


Dear (omitted domain name)
 We are Beijing Inveis Network Information Technology Co.,Ltd , which is the domain name
register center in China. We received a formal application from a company who is called
Yunfeitongda International Trade Company  are applying to register "  (omitted)  " as their domain
name and Internet keyword on Mar 23th 2008. Because this involved your company name or
trade marks so we inform you in no time. If you considered these domain names and
internet keywords are important to you and there was necessary to protect them by
registering them first, contact us soon.
Kind Regards,
Leo Guo
Tel:     +86-10-82476192-605
Fax:     +86-10-62477798
Email:   leo.guo@inveis.com
Beijing Inveis Network Information Technology Co.,Ltd
www.inveis.com

Aside from the poor grammar, this would seem somewhat legitimate. There is an actual website that gives the appearance of being a respectable overseas registrar. It also seems that it would be fairly harmless to respond to the email stating the domain is taken and there is no interest in selling it.

A quick who-is search on inveis.com shows a creation date of 3/20/2008. The email just got a little more than fishy. Googling the company name came up with nothing. Hmm, what are they trying to pull?

A search on their phone number is the only thing that provided any results. http://louminatti.blogspot.com/2008/01/china-scam.html. Hah, same email, only the names have been changed.

Apparantly, they will register your domain under .cn and try to sell it back to you if you respond with any concerns over your domain name. I guess this is what happens when you get tired of writing bots that farm WoW gold for you to sell on eBay.

Tags:

Click here for a good time

by Mufaka 3/5/2008 2:09:00 PM
wtf

This is the screen I was presented with when trying to install software and drivers for my HP Photosmart C5280 all-in-on printer/scanner. Granted, I am trying to install this on Windows Server 2003 and the documentation does not specifically say that is supported. But you'd think that if they detected a non-supported o/s and removed the 'Install' button, they would prompt you in some way.

Tags: ,

HP

Powered by BlogEngine.NET 1.3.1.0
Theme by Mads Kristensen

About the author

Name of author Mufaka
I am a software developer currently working on Healthcare solutions using Microsoft technologies.

E-mail me Send mail

Calendar

<<  July 2008  >>
MoTuWeThFrSaSu
30123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031123
45678910

View posts in large calendar

Pages

    Recent comments

    Authors

    Disclaimer

    The opinions expressed herein are my own personal opinions and do not represent my employer's view in anyway.

    © Copyright 2008

    Sign in